Hi Everyone, A great finish to the series, helped along with some spot prizes thrown in as a bit of incentive to improve your times! A few of you decided to enjoy the last race at a leisurely pace … that’s not a bad way to finish either!

FULL RESULTS: 2017 – Race 5 – SINGLETRACKS XC – Series Finale

Congratulations to Cashmere High School who took out the top school for the series.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.02.05 PM
Top 15 Schools (Using points for placings from 1-10 and points for all competing riders)
Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.01.55 PM
Top 15 Schools (Using only points for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd in each age group for each race)

The top school calculation includes points for placings down to 10th, along with points that each rider earns by competing for their school. This gives a ranking based on success and strength of numbers!

The second ranking list only uses points for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place getters in each age group. A measure of success, but it ignores great performances by a lot of riders through the age grades.

Christchurch Boys High School had an awesome presence with the most riders (22) taking part in some or all of the races.

There have been a lot of positive comments about the series so I think it’s worth acknowledging the volunteers that gave so much time to make the races happen. Craig, Rebekah and Jennifer Tregurtha and Nina McVicar took control of timing and results. Craig also helped as a course marshal. Heather Elliott and Pauline Cooper were at registration, and Brian Smith, Simon Taylor, Neil McKeegan, Laurence Mote, and Mike Green helped as course marshals. And of course there were great photos from Martin Anderson. Thanks so much to all of them.



47 riders registered their fastest lap in the last race. It was great to see an even spread of fastest laps through the grades (A 11, B 14, C 9, D 13). The winner of the $50 Torpedo 7 voucher is Will Griffiths (CBHS).

67 riders took on the challenge and rode their fastest race time in race 5. Once again there was a good spread through the grades (A 16, B 19, C 11, D 16). What a great way to finish the series! The winner of the second $50 Torpedo 7 voucher is Olivia Eastmond (RNLS) . (Apologies to Henry, randomness did bring up his number again and I had briefly posted it here, but as a winner of the GoPro he is not eligible for another major spot prize so it was redrawn. Fairness basically!)

74 riders took part in all 5 races. Pretty good considering how busy March can be with other activities! The winner of the 3rd $50 Torpedo 7 voucher is Tommy David-Venz (RAHS).

122 riders took part in the final race – brilliant! The winner of the CamelBak Ratchet Pack is Annabel Bligh (St Martins)

The team at registration were really impressed with how all the riders represented themselves through the race series. There were a few riders that stood out at registration during the last race … Nico Arnold (Tai Tapu), Monty Fiddymont (RNLS), Braedyn McKernan (CBHS) and Jordan Sutherland (SHIR). Singletracks Beanies will be coming your way!

3 tracks

In the photo competition the three tracks that needed to be named to be in the draw were Crocodile, Lower Deviation (or Deviation), and C2. Thanks to Ground Effect for supporting the schools racing and providing some great prizes.
Ben Hay (Chch Sth Int), Ethan McLachlan (RAHS) and Jorgia Good will get a pair of Ground Effect gloves and socks. Harry Pooler (DARF), Alex Wayman (Chch Sth Int), Jordan Thwaites (BURN), and Sam Evans (Chch Sth Int) will get a Ground Effect Retro TT2 t-shirt. Courtney Ross, a CamelBak drink bottle is coming your way!

Contact me (murray@singletrack.org.nz) to arrange delivery of prizes.

Thanks again to CamelBak, GoPro, Ground Effect, Torpedo 7 and The Southern Trust.

See you all in 2018!